top of page
bngnewlogo23white.png

THE ARCHIVES

Busy Life | Our Time in Washington, DC and New York City 2015 | Travel Photographer

// DISCLAIMER: These photos were taken in the spring of 2015. //


Life has always been busy. There’s always something going on and it keeps us on our toes. In the last few months, things have drastically changed for every single person on this planet. We’ve all come to a stand still, and suddenly, the busy lifestyle that we have come to known is completely on hold. Busy streets have become empty. Refraining from directly interacting with our family, friends, and neighbors have become the new norm. Things that we as a society are not use to - but things that are important to assure the health and safety of those we love. A lot of anxiety has come upon us as we don’t know what the future may hold.

Last week, I was going through old photos that had popped on my Facebook memories, and some of the first photos I ever took and edited for BNG Photography popped up. The images were from our high school senior trip to Washington, DC and New York City. All of the images I took that week were done on my tiny iPhone 4s that I had for 80% of my high school years - a while before I had my first DSLR. I have always kicked myself for not bringing a camera with me on this trip because of the quality the old iPhone camera had. When the photos popped up, it reminded me of the fun week I spent traveling in those special places with all of my high school friends and just how different life was for all of us in that class five years ago. I decided to go searching for that little iPhone and I finally found it stored in a box under my bed. Thankfully, I was able to manage to get the original files off of my phone and pull them up on my computer and I took a scroll through memory lane.

Looking back at the images, I first saw the age in the images - the grain, exposure - but then I saw my growth. Despite the quality of the camera, I could see my inspiration for photography blossoming in the images I took. I can remember every detail of what was going through my mind as I took in those new scenes. I remember the museums and monuments and the emotions we all felt being in those places. I saw the busy streets, the large gatherings of friends, and the excitement in all of us teenagers seeing a new world.

Right now, these places likely look the exact opposite during this pandemic we are all facing. But looking at these images gives me a sense of hope. A sense of hope that one day we will be able to gather again and enjoy one another’s company, that we can explore the world with little limitation. I don’t believe that any of us will be the same after this, but maybe that’s a good thing.

My prayer is that during this time of trouble, we all look to the One that can turn this whole thing around. The One that is the center of all peace, that will cast away our anxieties and stress. We will get through this together.


I hope that you all find a moment of enjoyment in this walk down memory lane with me - especially those of you that were on this 2015 trip.


Places featured in these images:


WASHINGTON, DC. United States Capitol // The White House // Fords Theatre // United States Holocaust Memorial Museum // Arlington Cemetery // MLK Memorial // FDR Memorial // Washington Monument //Lincoln Memorial // WWII Memorial // Vietnam + Korean Memorials //


NEW YORK CITY. Radio City Music Hall // Time Square // Empire State Building // Central Park // The New York Public Library // 9/11 Museum // Ellis Island // The Statue of Liberty

 

NOTICE: ALL IMAGES FEATURED ON OUR WEBSITE ARE UNDER COPYRIGHT OF BNG PHOTOGRAPHY. ALL RIGHTS RESEVED. PLEASE DO NOT SCREENSHOT, SAVE, OR ALTER IMAGES IN ANYWAY. Contact us if you would like to share these images so we can send the appropriately sized file to you!

NOTICE: ALL IMAGES FEATURED ON OUR WEBSITE ARE UNDER COPYRIGHT OF BNG PHOTOGRAPHY. ALL RIGHTS RESEVED. PLEASE DO NOT SCREENSHOT, SAVE, OR ALTER IMAGES IN ANYWAY. Contact us if you would like to share these images so we can send the appropriately sized file to you!

 

Brianna N. Griffith is a wedding + portrait photographer and designer based in Cornettsville, Kentucky serving KY & beyond. BNG is available for travel within the continental United States.


57 views
bottom of page