top of page
bngnewlogo23white.png

THE ARCHIVES

Coal Miner Legacy Session | Kentucky Portrait Photographer

Toward the end of 2017, Emily and Carla contacted me about the Amerifest National Pageant in TN. Each of the participants were to enter photos styled to showcase their state, and they knew exactly what they wanted to showcase - coal.


We spent several months planning all of the details for this shoot and I could not be happier with how it turned out. Mining has been a huge part of a lot of our families for generations in KY and still is to this day - my father was a miner for decades and so was his father, and so was my mother's father. It's in our blood. We definitely wanted to showcase our state's heritage in a beautiful way and I believe we gave it justice.


Yesterday was Day 1 of the national pageant. While I was eating dinner, Carla was extremely excited to tell me that Emily's photo WON the state themed photo at nationals! My heart is so happy!


We are also super thankful to the Roarks for allowing us to use their beautiful property in Vicco, KY. My dad actually worked this land with the International Coal Group from start to finish. This was the place where I was taught to drive a vehicle, where we rode our ATVs, and where he swore was one of the most beautiful places he had ever worked. I am so thankful that we had the opportunity to see it again.

Two generations of mining - my father's and his father's mining hats.

The winning photo!





The sunsets on the mountain never fail to take my breath away.

Brianna N. Griffith is a Cornettsville, KY based photographer who specializes in wedding and portrait photography. For more information, contact us. Available for travel in the US.




107 views
bottom of page